300 Range Road, PO Box 39 Whitehorse STN CSC Whitehorse, Yukon Canada, Y1A 5X9

Arctic Athabaskan Council

About Us
Home » About Us

About Us

In 2000, founding members of the AAC represented approximately 32,000 indigenous peoples of Athabaskan descent at the time of signing the AAC treaty. At present, AAC members in Alaska (including fifteen traditional villages), Yukon (the Council of Yukon First Nations) and Northwest Territories (Dene Nation) span across 76 communities and represent approximately 45,000 people.

The Athabaskan peoples, residing in Arctic and sub-Arctic Alaska, U.S.A., and the Yukon Territory and Northwest Territories of Canada have traditionally occupied a vast geographic area of approximately 3 million square kilometers. This vast region has been continuously occupied by Athabaskan peoples for at least 10,000 years and includes three of North America’s largest river systems (Mackenzie, Yukon and Churchill Rivers). It also includes vast areas of both tundra (barren lands) and taiga (boreal forest) as well as North America’s highest mountains (Mount McKinley and Mount Logan) and the world’s largest non-polar ice field (St. Elias Mountains). The southeastern boundary of the Arctic Athabaskan peoples’ traditional territories includes portions of provincial northern Canada.

The ancestors of contemporary Athabaskan peoples were semi-nomadic hunters. The staples of Athabaskan life are caribou, moose, beaver, rabbits and fish. Athabaskan peoples continue to enjoy their traditional practices and diet.

Except for south-central Alaska (Tanana and Eyak) and the Hudson Bay (Chipweyan), Athabaskan peoples are predominately inland taiga and tundra dwellers. Collectively, the Arctic Athabaskan peoples share 23 distinct languages and live in communities as far flung as Tanana, Alaska and Tadoule Lake, northern Manitoba, nearly 5,400 kilometers apart.

Forms of political and cultural organization vary depending upon the place of residence of a particular Athabaskan people. In Alaska, Athabaskan peoples have organized themselves in accordance with federal and state statutes which provide funding for government operations, including the Indian Reorganization Act for tribal governments, Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act for incorporated Villages, and a variety of state- legislated and traditional political entities. In Canada, Athabaskan peoples have organized themselves into political bodies under federal legislation including bands created under the Indian Act, self-governing First Nations as mandated through negotiated Settlement Agreements, and regional umbrella organizations.

Site Links

Our Team

Bridget's photo

Bridget Larocque

Policy Advisor/Researcher

Bridget Larocque is an Indigenous Métis of the Northwest Territories. She has extensive knowledge of the Northwest Territories and the broader circumpolar world and brings a distinct worldview from that region, and also shares comprehensive knowledge of research methods on Indigenous and gender issues. She serves as a policy advisor and researcher and as Head of Delegation on the Sustainable Development Working Group (SDWG) for the Arctic Athabaskan Council (ACC). She was the executive director of Gwich’in Council International (GCI) from 2007-12, so she has tremendous expertise on the Arctic Council and Arctic governance issues. Her other work includes managing self-government negotiations for the Gwich’in Tribal Council, serving as land claim implementation coordinator and project analyst with Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada, as assistant negotiator with Executive and Indigenous Affairs in the Government of the Northwest Territories, and former Executive Director of the Fort Norman Métis Community in the Northwest Territories.